The style journey begins

I’m almost every day I get an interesting comment from a friend, coworker, or stranger on the street. The words may vary, but they all have the same idea: I’m wearing something stylish. This hasn’t always been the case, and even now I really don’t consider myself a fashion-forward thinker.

Back in the naughties (as I like to call the years beginning with 200-), my daily outfit consisted of bootcut jeans, a tee shirt, and, if it was fall or winter, a cardigan. Maybe I would mix it up with a blouse or tunic for date night. Dresses were for weddings, suits were for funerals and interviews. I looked boxy most of the time, as most tee shirts don’t come in ladies’ sizing big enough for me and I was relegated to buying all my tees in men’s XXL.

Part of this uniform was me trying to hide my figure. I had yet to discover body acceptance, and assumed that being fat meant loose clothing to minimize the existence of my curves and bulges. And then, a few years ago, I somehow stumbled onto an article by Kate Harding and the Shapely Prose blog. It wasn’t a mind-altering experience, but it planted the seeds that would one day blossom into body acceptance.

In 2008 I bought my first pair of shorts—to be worn outside! in public!—in who knows how many years. I went to a real, honest-to-goodness lingerie shop, where the women feel you up and bring you bras for two hours, and for the first time in my entire life walked out feeling good about my boobs. I started to incorporate skirts into my wardrobe, and discovered the amazingness of DSW.

Even with all that, I still feel like I’m playing dress up a lot of the time. I often feel worried that I’m doing it wrong. Trying new things is a bit new and uncomfortable for me, but the more I do it, the better I feel.

So today I am wearing a scarf.

Trying out a new scarf (pics because @springviolet asked)

This rarely happens, because the little voice in the back of my head says that scarves are meant for more glamorous ladies, like celebrities and my friend Joanna. In fact, Jo is the one who convinced me that there’s really no wrong way to wear a scarf, and I should just do. Today, I am just doing it.

Over the next few months, there’s going to be a lot of “just doing it”. I’ve recently moved away from my hometown for the first time (college doesn’t count!) and as I unpack my boxes and bags, I’m taking inventory of my wardrobe, which is actually part of Sal’s Already Pretty Self-guided Mini Makeover.

I see so many cute, fun, and stylish outfits on some of my favorite bloggers. It’s about time I started thinking that about myself.

Leave a Reply

