Outfitblogging 8 Sep 2011

Orange stripe-edge skirt with cardigan

Skirt: thrifted from Impact in Norristown PA (spring 2011)
Shirt: Target (summer 2008)
Cardigan: Lane Bryant (summer 2011)
Tights: Lane Bryant
Necklace: thrifted from Impact (spring 2011)
Earrings: Torrid (fall 2006)
Shoes: Alice & Olivia for Payless (spring 2009)

It’s been raining in DC since Monday. The sky has been grey and dreary, and the wet roads have lead to so much traffic that it’s been taking me three hours to get to work. (I’ve discussed my commute over at one of my other blogs.) Even though fall is coming quickly upon us, I thought it would be a good idea to keep it bright. Mostly I just wanted to wear this skirt today. And tights! I’m wearing tights for the first time in months.

You guys. Let me tell you about this skirt.

Before going off to Las Vegas on vacation in April, I went thift shopping with Joanna and Connie. Since we were heading to the rockabilly weekend, genre-appropriate clothing and accessories were at the top of the list. While this skirt is not really rockabilly, it practically jumped out at me from the racks. Since finding good plus-sized clothing can be difficult in thrift shops, I threw it in my pile to take into the dressing room. My friends would not let me put this one back; it’s that awesome. The best part? $3. I am not making that up.

I think the skirt is supposed to sit lower on the hips, but it doesn’t fit me there. The band is wide, with four buttons that catch on the left side, and it feels much better against my torso. I’d like to play around with wearing it over shirts instead, with different belts or scarves or something. For now, I prefer my shirts untucked.

Skull earrings

I love these earrings. They’re about five years old. I bought them, as I do many accessories, on a buy-one-get-one-half-price sale at Torrid, just as they were transitioning from “Hot Topic for Fat Girls” and into the newer, pinker phase. (For the record, I still shop at Torrid, but I much preferred their puffy black pinstripe skirts with lots of grommets and buckles.)

Purple shoes

I love these shoes. I originally bought them to wear with my Easter dress in 2009, as the purple exactly matches the trim on that dress. I wasn’t looking for new shoes to match; I just happened to walk past the Payless at the mall, new Easter dress stored safety in a shopping bag, when these called to me from the window.

However, I did not wear these shoes into the office today.

Plaid wellies

I wore my new L.L.Bean Wellies, for the third day in a row. I bought these a couple weeks ago, right when Hurricane Irene was about to hit our area, but before all the stores in the mall closed down for the weather. Even though they are a tad snug on my calves, I love these boots. So happy to have bought them.

Leave a Reply

