Outfitblogging 13 Sep 2011

Brown cardigan over blouse with pencil skirt

Skirt: Lane Bryant (fall 2008)
Shirt: Fashion Bug (winter 2011)
Cardigan: Target (fall 2011)
Earrings: gift from Matt’s parents (fall 2010)
Socks: Sock Dreams (fall 2011)
Shoes: Aerosoles (winter 2003)

I admit, I put this outfit together based solely on these socks. I’m going to be spending some time on main campus today, and these socks feel quite collegiate to me; it only seemed right that I should pair them with a blouse and cardigan. Last night on the way home from work, I stopped into both Lane Bryan and Target, searching for a brown cardigan, knowing that it would be nigh impossible to get something orange that matched the socks. Ready to go home, I did one more lap around Target’s ladies section, and viola! This jumped out at me. How darling?

Nerd socks

Seriously, how can you not love these socks? I’d been eyeing them on Sock Dreams for a while, and I finally made my order last week. In fact, I placed my order on Friday at 1:50pm, and at 3:39pm I got my shipping confirmation email. My package was waiting at my door when I got home last night. Holy balls, that’s some fast service!

I bought these shoes forever ago. During my tenure at my first real job, which had a business dress code, I suffered a terrible bout of plantar fasciitis. The doctor made me custom orthodics, but also wrote me a note in order for me to be able to wear sneakers in the office, at least until my feet healed. However, there’s only so much you can do with sneakers and a dress (without looking like a 1980s woman taking the subway in a power suit), and after a while, I got bored with them. I found these cute and sporty mary janes at my local Famous Footwear, and felt so much better about my wardrobe.

Side note: wearing custom orthodics, cushioned insoles, and flexible arch supports have keep me mostly pain free in the years since. This lets me get away with wearing shoes without them a few times a week. I try to keep my heels a little chunky and under 2.5 inches.

Earrings

Simple earrings today. These were a birthday gift from Matt’s parents, because they are nice and they like me. (I also have a few pins and brooches I received at Christmas that will be making an appearance as fall and winter come around.) If I’d had little orange balls on drop earrings, that would have been perfect.

One thought on “Outfitblogging 13 Sep 2011

Leave a Reply

