Outfitblogging 14 Sep 2011

Cherry dress with red shrug

Dress: Torrid (spring 2004)
Cardigan: Lane Bryant (fall 2011)
Belt: Torrid (summer 2008)
Earrings: Claire’s (spring 2004)
Necklace: forgotten vendor at Viva Las Vegas (spring 2011)
Shoes: Target (fall 2011)

I’m a bit late on my post today, as I spent most of the morning not only working but also trying to keep up with comments on my latest article at The Nerd Signal on My Little Pony and the brony culture and fandom surrounding it.

And… I swear I thought I was smiling this morning! Yet I have this face in every photograph that was taken, so I’ll live with it. I went to sleep at 8:30pm last night, yet still slept through my alarm this morning. I’ve had enough. It’s time to make an appointment with a new sleep doctor! I also posted a blog on that topic as well.

But onto chipper things! It’s mid-September, but the weather is bright and sunny, so I chose an appropriate outfit to match. I picked up this cardigan at Lane Bryant the other night, because I’ve been searching for a red cropped shrug or cardigan for about as long as I’ve had this dress! That’s seven years! I was going to knit one this winter (and still may) but this was on clearance for $24, marked down from $40. Of course I grabbed it.

Choosing the black belt allowed me to wear my black flats, pulling the colors together. I have these great red mary jane shoes that I love, but with the temperatures in the high 80s today, I knew my feet would be swelling a bit, leaving the mary janes to cut off circulation to my toes. Better to wear those in fall and winter. Soon! So soon.

Pearl earrings and cherry necklace

The cherry necklace makes another appearance so soon after the last, but how could I not wear it with this dress today? It was just about made to match! The little drop pearl earrings gain a lot of attention, much like my “diamonds” but are really just another great Claire’s find, under $10.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 14 Sep 2011

  1. The necklace really is a perfect match for the dress. I love it when things like that happen. I used to have a pair of earrings that were like little roses – and a silk scarf with roses in the same colour. In fact, I may still have that scarf somewhere….

Leave a Reply

