Outfitblogging 15 Sep 2011

Flowery dress with grey cardigan

Dress: Lane Bryant Outlet (spring 2008)
Cardigan: Target (summer 2011)
Earrings: Fashion Bug (spring 2009)
Tights: Lane Bryant (winter 2011)
Shoes: Candie’s (summer 2004)

I’m going to let you in on a little secret, but I don’t want you to take this the wrong way. See that dress I’m wearing today? It’s cute, right? It’s a maternity dress, and I’m not even pregnant.

I bought this dress on a trip to Franklin Mills a few years ago. The Lane Bryant outlet has a lot staples and basic essentials, but they also have some cute items that may not be in the regular stores. I spotted this dress, tried it on, loved it, bought it, and took it home. As I was hanging up the day’s purchases, I realized this dress was a maternity dress. Mortified what people would think if I wore this in public, I stashed it in my closet and moved it to two separate apartments before finally wearing it.

After three years, I pulled this out one day and thought, “Seriously? This dress is super cute and who the hell cares if it’s a maternity dress?” So I wore it to work and got many compliments. I confided to two of my coworkers and we all giggled over the fact.

Silver disc earrings

I was without my photographer today, but I think the 10-second timer worked pretty well. It took some time to get a proper angle and figure out just how long 10 seconds really is. The photos of my earrings were much easier to take myself. I ordered these through the Fashion Bug website a couple years ago, when I browsed the clearance section last minute before hitting “submit order”. I think they ended up being $2, or something similarly cheap.

Black mary janes

Mary janes are a weakness of mine. I’ve got at least 8 pair, which may be tame by most shoe-lovers standards, but is pretty high for mine. This particular pair was my first purchase from Zappos.com, and they are Candie’s. Oh boy, how I wanted a pair of Candie’s since junior high, but my parents got most of our shoes at either Payless or Fayva, which were never name brand. I was in my mid-twenties before I realized that spending more than $20 for a pair of shoes was perfectly reasonable.

Oh, remember Fayva?

You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 15 Sep 2011

  1. Crystal says:

    I LOVE this dress! This outfit is awesome. This and your cherry outfit from the day before are my favorites so far. You make me want to get out and buy more clothes and shoes. :)

  2. Yes! It makes me feel like such a silly goose that I’ve had this hanging in my closet for so long! I can probably sneak it into early fall with the tights and cardigan, but it’s definitely not for wearing past November.

    Part of my experiment is working with that I already have, and I’ve noticed the amount of clothing I’ve bought over the past year has been down. I’ve got a draft post about it, but I keep changing what I want to say in it.

    The teaser summary is: I’ve been shopping in my own closet :)

Leave a Reply

