Outfitblogging 19 Sep 2011

Polka dots and pencil skirt

Skirt: Lane Bryant (fall 2010)
Blouse: Fatsionista LiveJournal swap/sale, now fatshionxchange (winter 2008)
Cardigan: Lane Bryant (fall 2011)
Belt: Ashley Stewart (spring 2009)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Earrings: Claire’s (spring 2004)
Tights: Lane Bryant
Shoes: T.U.K. (spring 2011)

The other day I mentioned the Outfit Inspiration Calendar from Kimberly at Fab Finds Under $50; today calls for polka dots and a pencil skirt, and wouldn’t you know? I just so happen to have a great vintage-style polka dot blouse and a classic black pencil skirt.

I’ve worn this combination in the past, but today marks the first appearance of this skinny red belt—another item I’ve had for years without wearing. You may also recognize the cropped red cardigan from my outfit with the cherry dress, and it’s getting some use so close to its first wearing. While the blouse and skirt look cute together, I think the red in the shrug and belt just kick it up a notch.

Polka dots and pearls

The pearls in the drop earrings and necklace add a super classic and elegant touch. The earrings are another long-ago Claire’s purchase that still get a lot of comments and compliments.

No photographer again today, which I think shows in these photos. I need to place the camera on the railing all the way across the porch, on the other side of the house, and the shots just aren’t as good. In order to keep up the photos with no one else taking them, I’ll need to get a tripod. I don’t need anything fancy, but if you’ve got a recommendation, let’s hear it!

Best shoes ever

How about these shoes, eh? They came at me like a surprise. I needed a petticoat to wear under my dresses at the rockabilly festival last spring, so one night on the way home from work, I stopped into Passional, a local (to me in Philadelphia) fashion and fetish shop. Not only did they have petticoats in my size, but they were also holding a store-wide sale, something that is quite rare for Passional! I grabbed these shoes for well under $40.

Leave a Reply

