Outfitblogging 21 Sep 2011

Dress as skirt with blouse and tights

Dress as skirt: Lane Bryant (spring 2006)
Shirt: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Tights: Target (summer 2011)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Earrings: Lane Bryant (winter 2005)
Shoes: Børn, at DSW (spring 2009)

So tired. (But I will refrain from posting about that too much, saving it for my other blog instead.) Apologies for the miserable puss, but again, I swear I was smiling. Or attempting to. The day is overcast and filled with so much fog! The humidity is quite terrible, and hopefully rain comes and clears that up soon.

I bought this dress and wore it with a cropped demin jacket for my brother’s graduation from elementary school. I haven’t worn it too many times since, as the top is rather big and shows off whichever bra I pair with it. A few months ago I had the bright idea to try wearing a shirt over the dress instead of a cardigan or jacket, and this outfit was created.

Necklace and earrings

Earrings and necklace from Lane Bryant, bought many years apart, but I like wearing them together. Sadly, the necklace doesn’t like to stay together, and it’s fallen apart on me on at least four different occasions. I almost always wear it double looped, like I am here.

Tights and mary janes

Tights were on sale at Target for $5, and they are OK, for $5. I bought the 1X/2X size, and even though I’m shorter than 5’6″ and not quite the weight limit (was it 220 lbs? 230?), these just fit me. Already the crotch is tearing, and there’s a slight run in foot. But, for $5 I figured I would try them.

Now, the shoes. I have a story about these shoes. I had driven up to Boston to visit an ex (when he wasn’t an ex yet, of course) but got into town way early, and decided to stop into the Lady Grace location in Braintree. After finally finding some fabulous bras (a different story!), I spied a DSW on the way north.

My first stop in any DSW is usually the clearance rack, and that’s where I saw these beauties. Not only brown mary janes, as I’d been searching for a pair, but Børn brand, one of the most comfortable shoes on my feet. I’d often tried on Børns before, but often the price tag was a little past my budget. Not this time! Originally marked at $80, these were on the clearance rack for 70% off, and, wouldn’t you know? DSW was having a sale, in which everything, including clearance items, was an additional 30% off. I ended up purchasing these for a mere $16.

Leave a Reply

