Outfitblogging 27 Sep 2011

Denim pencil skirt with hand-knit sweater vest over blouse

Skirt: Lane Bryant (fall 2008)
Shirt: Target (summer 2010)
Vest: hand-knit, myself (fall 2010)
Earrings: Lane Bryant (summer 2009)
Tights: Lane Bryant (fall 2011)
Shoes: Aerosoles (winter 2003)

This sweater vest is the first garment that I knit for myself. Before this, I’d knit scarves and shawls and shrugs and hats and gloves, but no clothing pieces. For the annual trip to the NY Sheep & Wool festival in Rhinebeck, my knitting group chooses a “house color”, and we each knit something to wear in that color. The 2010 color was blue, and I made myself a Cherry Bomb from Big Girl Knits with KnitPicks Comfy.

I do not like this outfit as much as I did when I first left the house yesterday. By the time I got into the office, I was sure I’d made a mistake pairing the tights with it. The blouse and vest together are simply adorable, but the bottoms are too dark. Perhaps next time I’ll go with something bright and colorful, not dark and patterned.

Hoop earrings, silver pendant necklace

Above is a pretty good shot of some of the vest. These are also the largest hoop earrings I own! Sometimes I like to be a little bold. These are very round and big, but yet still classy enough to wear to work, and not be all Jersey Shore.

Tights with mary janes

The pattern on the tights is super cute, but again, I think I would like them better with another outfit. I’ve got a few more ideas in mind, so you probably won’t see the last of these tights, even though I’ve already got a run! I was pulling them on when my nail caught the side. Luckily, I remembered an old trick my mother taught me when dealing with runs in stockings: clear nail polish. I grabbed my bottle, threw on a coat over the run, and continued my day. Worked like a charm.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 27 Sep 2011

  1. Crystal says:

    I agree with the tights issue. Perhaps red tights would tie that outfit together. I really enjoy the look of tights, just hate putting them on, and for that reason, I don’t own but a couple of pairs that I haven’t worn in years and have long been outgrown. I should probably start looking into getting more, especially as fall is here, and bare legs aren’t comfortable.

  2. I used to hate tights too. It was probably only in the last year that I really started wearing them, mostly as I added more skirts to my wardrobe. Bare legs in winter are a pain! I did run across fleece-lined tights on another blog, and I will give those a try this winter.

Leave a Reply

