Use it or lose it

What a great idea! Through Mia’s post on Reading in Skirts, I discovered the Use It or Lose It Challenge on Stuff Jewish Girls Like.

The premise: chose underutilized items in your wardrobe, and do your best to incorporate them into your outfits over the next 30 days. If you still love ’em, keep ’em. No? Then it’s time for a Goodwill trip. Part of my whole style journey is figuring out how to use what I’ve got to its maximum potential; this challenge is the perfect opportunity!

This round calls for cardigans or jackets and shoes. Since I’ve just unpacked the last of my clothing, pulled out my fall and winter items, and organized my closet, I think this is a great time to take the challenge, even if I am a few days late on the start.

Here are my items for the challenge:

I just added a few cardigans to my collection, and I’ve been wearing them all, but I do have a blazer that I don’t think I’ve worn in about two years. It’s a wonderful piece. Why has it been stuffed in my closet? Oh, right. It is a hard red to match. It’s not red red, and it’s not dark enough to be maroon or burgundy. Browns don’t match, either. This may be a tough one.

How hot are these shoes? I think I’ve only worn them twice. They are red and sexy. (They do not match the blazer.) The shine on them makes them a tad inappropriate for work, and I’m not sure I get invited to too many parties where sexy red shoes are the norm.

Plain. Black. Comfortable. Did I already mention plain? These shoes may be best suited for pants, which I’ve mostly stopped wearing. I don’t even remember the last time I wore these shoes. Will they make it through the 30 days?

Super cute! It’s also amazing how comfortable these are for $11 shoes from Payless. These I’ve had for just a year, and have worn at least three times. I’m sure I can get them into quite a few outfits, even with the peep-toe, moving into fall.

Are you up for the challenge? What items have you got lurking in the back of your closet, waiting for a second chance?

2 thoughts on “Use it or lose it

  1. Mia says:

    Ha, thanks for the pingback! It’s fun to see what-all other people are putting to the test. Those Payless shoes are super adorbs, and I bet you’ll be able to work at least one outfit out of each of the rest of the items. Of course, if not, that’s what the “Lose It” part is for. Good luck!

  2. Thanks! I will do my best. I’ve already got some ideas for the Payless shoes, and at least one outfit planned for the blazer. We’ll see what happens with the others. Good luck with your challenge too!

Leave a Reply

