Outfitblogging 7 Oct 2011

Pink shirt with chambray skirt, denim jacket, and western boots

Skirt: eShakti (fall 2011)
Shirt: hand-knit, myself (spring 2011)
Cami: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Earrings: Lane Bryant (summer 2009)
Necklace: Clair’s (fall 2009)
Shoes: Rocket Dog, DSW (fall 2011)

This morning, I didn’t like anything in my closet. I tried on about nine different outfits, and hated every single one. I only settled on this because I was running out of time, if I didn’t want to be late going into the office. However, by the time I got in and looked at the photos, and at myself again, I liked it more and more.

Bombshell (handknit shirt)

This shirt, Bombshell from Big Girl Knits, was knit specifically to pack for the rockabilly festival. Its pin-up inspired curves were exactly what I wanted in a spring (or fall) sweater. It’s knit with KnitPicks Shine, which is a totally lovely yarn to work with. I may also do this sweater again in a yummy wool, with longer sleeves and hemline for winter.

Western-style ankle boots

Last weekend, Matt and I went on an errand-running day of adventure, part of which was spent at DSW. Matt always comes out with more shoes than I do, but I did manage to snag two pair of boots, all for under $150, including this pair of western-style ankle boots. They are super comfortable! The heel has a nice give to it, so when I’m walking it’s not all “clack clack clack” along the ground, making it easier on my feet. I want to wear these boots with every outfit.

4 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 7 Oct 2011

  1. I didn’t have any other suitable shoes. Well, I could have worn my brown heels, but not with socks. I only seem to have black or grey flats. That may need to change.

  2. Mia says:

    Those boots are so cute! Also, I’m crazy impressed that you knitted that yourself–a friend taught me how to do basic knitting a while ago, and I had a hard enough time just making something bookmark-sized. What a gorgeous color to knit something in, too.

  3. The pink is fantastic. I used to hate the color, but now I keep an eye out for pinks like this one.

    I spent the weekend at the sheep and wool festival, and wore a new handknit sweater! I’ll be posting that later today. After about 4 years of knitting hats and scarves, I am just now starting to knit sweaters. Once you get the hang of it, it’s quite addictive. Sweaters for everyone!

Leave a Reply

