Outfitblogging 11 Oct 2011

Purple shirt over black dress with cardigan and belt

Dress: Lane Bryant (spring 2009)
Shirt: Old Nacy (summer 2011)
Cami: Target (summer 2011)
Socks: Target (summer 2011)
Shoes: Target (summer 2011)

Yesterday was one of those days when I woke up and just wanted to be comfortable and not care about what I was wearing. The day before had been filled with much anxiety, as I planned to run many errands but ended up dealing with a dead car battery. Long story short, I was cranky and irritable on Tuesday morning. I went for one of my go-to outfits.

I bought the convertible skirt-dress a few years ago, with the intention of wearing it so many ways, and ended up using it as a bathing suit cover-up for over a year. Since last fall, I’ve been trying new things with it, wearing it as both a skirt and dress. Here, I’m using it as an underlayer to the purple shirt, which is really long, more of a tunic. I break up the piece with the belt and the cardigan.

Dress beneath shirt

After I took this photo, I realized I’d never put my silver hoop earrings on. Oh well! You can see the top of the dress here, peeking out in the neckline of the shirt. The v-neck is too low to wear alone, especially to work, so I need to add a cami or tank under it. The dress serves a dual purpose!

Skull socks and black flats

How cute are these socks, eh? I love these little happy skulls.

3 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 11 Oct 2011

  1. Mia says:

    Purple and black is such a great color combination, I like what you did here. And those socks, ohmygoodness.

  2. Target socks! $1.50! I can’t help but pick up more socks just about every time I am shopping at Target.

    The belt came with a completely different shirt from Lane Bryant, but I rarely ever wear it with its intended partner. It matches this shirt so much better.

Leave a Reply

