Outfitblogging 21 Oct 2011

Sweater with pencil skirt and belt

Sweater: Old Navy (winter 2008)
Skirt: Lane Bryant (winter 2007)
Tights: Lane Bryant (winter 2011)
Shoes: American Eagle, Payless (summer 2010)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Earrings: Claire’s (fall 2008)

It’s been a few weeks since I decided to participate in the Use It or Lose It challenge, and I must admit that I’m not finding it encouraging that today features my first item. I figured it was about time to buckle down and pick something, and these shoes were it. The rest of the outfit was based around the shoes.

The skirt is actually one of three pieces that make up my winter suit, but I rarely wear the jacket unless I’m attending a job interview or a funeral. I tried on three different shirts and sweaters with this skirt before settling for this cute vintage-style number from Old Navy. I’ve worn this sweater/skirt combination before, but not with the belt. After seeing belts styled this way on others, and liking it, I tried it. Not so bad!

Pearls

This sweater inspires similarly classy accessories, and nothing says classy better than a few strands of pearls (in this case, one long strand wrapped several times) and simple earrings. Claire’s to the rescue! I may be the oldest person without a teenage daughter in that store, but dangit, I find the cutest things.

Grey tights and pink shoes

These shoes are not quite as comfortable as I remember them to be. By the time I got into the office, the balls of my feet were on fire, and my little toes were falling asleep. Could be the tights? I’m pretty sure I wore pantyhose the last time I donned these shoes, but pantyhose are generally reserved for the above-mentioned job interviews and funerals. Perhaps these shoes are destined for the Goodwill pile? They are so cute I don’t want to say no, but comfort comes first.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 21 Oct 2011

  1. Mia says:

    This is super classy-looking, and I love those tights. That’s some fantastic texture! Sad to hear about the shoes, though. Comfort, especially for feet, is so important. Hopefully someone else will find them a better fit?

  2. I’m sure someone will fit these shoes better than I. They are cute and stylish, but they won’t do any good if my feet are cramped and hurting after only a couple hours of wear.

Leave a Reply

