Outfitblogging 31 Oct 2011

River Song

Blouse: Land’s End, tailored (fall 2011)
Jacket: Old Navy (fall 2011)
Jeans: Lane Bryant (fall 2011)
Boots: Rocket Dog, DSW (fall 2011)
Earrings: Torrid (winter 2011)
Wig: Wigs.com (fall 2011)
Gun Belt: Western Emporium (fall 2011)
Cap gun: vintage, Etsy (fall 2011)
Flashlight (not visible): Home Depot (fall 2011)
TARDIS journal: crayon and pencil on sketch paper (fall 2011)

It’s Halloween today, one of my favorite holidays… maybe the favorite. Costuming, pumpkins, candy, scary movies. What’s not to love?

This year, I decided to put something together that can work double duty as cosplay at any upcoming conventions: River Song, from the Doctor Who series 6 premiere, “The Impossible Astronaut”.

Here is the promo pic for comparison, for those who are not familiar with the Doctor nor with any of his companions. How hot is Alex Kingston?

River Song (Doctor Who promo pic)

For those Whovians out there, or for those interested in costuming, here are some detail shots of the outfit with some more information.

Curly dark blonde wig

It took me a good long time to find a wig that I thought suitable. I’ve seen a lot of River cosplays where the hair is too blonde or too curly. There were a few I almost settled on, but I kept looking, and eventually came across this one. Buying a wig online is a little nerve-wracking, but my chance paid off! I love this wig. Love. I would wear this every day.

Denim jacket

Because of my figure—large boobs, small waist, and wide hips—I have a difficult time finding blouses that fit properly. I bought a few and returned them after realizing they were not quite right. After almost giving up, I tried the women’s section in the Land’s End department of my local Sears. Success! It definitely needed some alterations, but the bust and hips fit nicely. My tailor put two darts in the back to bring in the waist, and also hemmed the shirt to be shorter.

(Why do plus-sized shirts often come in too-long lengths? My shirts do not all need to come down to my knees!)

I did a lot of research online looking for the perfect denim jacket. I was most interested in the stitching down the front leading from the breast pockets. Old Navy had the best looking jacket, but they are hit or miss when it comes to plus sizes. I took a chance at my local store, and came home with this, the last in its size! I blogged about it last month.

Gun belt and holster

I deliberated a good time on purchasing the gun belt with holster. I mean, did I really want to plop down so much money on one thing for a costume? Yes. I came up with a list of ideas for wearing this item: River Song, Zoe or Mal (from Firefly), various steampunk outfits. It’s a good quality gun belt with beautiful decorations, much like the one River wears (not a plain belt).

The cap gun I bought from Etsy was a bit smaller that I expected; it looked bigger on the Internet. I love it, but it’s not viewable in the holster in this shot. Believe me, there’s a vintage 1960s cap gun in that holster.

Jeans and boots

I still dislike wearing jeans, but these are OK for today. The boots are so wonderfully comfortable, even with the thicker socks I’m wearing today due to the sudden and delightful chill. I wore these boots earlier this month with a skirt, so you can better see the details in that blog post.

TARDIS journal

Last but not least, my TARDIS diary. My original plan included sanding and painting and staining this sketchbook, but I found myself too busy over the past few weeks and instead took the quick approach. I sketched out the pattern on a large piece of sketch paper, then used crayons and colored pencils to create the look. I folded the paper to make a book jacket, and viola!

4 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 31 Oct 2011

  1. Mia says:

    You get a wild round of applause from this corner of the room, for sure. Fantastic River Song! As a costumer I really appreciate your attention to detail; that wig is way better than most I’ve seen. And yessss to future Zoe costumes.

Leave a Reply

