Outfitblogging 10 Nov 2011

Argyle sweater over a dress

Dress as skirt: Lane Bryant (summer 2009)
Camisole: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Sweater: Lane Bryant (fall 2011)
Tights: Lane Bryant (winter 2011)
Shoes: Target (summer 2011)
Earrings: Fashion Bug (summer 2009)
Necklace: Claire’s (fall 2009)

I originally hadn’t planned on wearing this outfit combination. The dress was on my short list for Thursday, but with a different cardigan. I picked up this one looking for the other one, and figured they would go well together, considering I wore bright pink with this sweater before.

I like the colors together, and I received a couple compliments yesterday, but I think I won’t do this combo again. I really like this sweater with a shorter, fuller skirt, and the dress here looks a little limp. Don’t worry! I’ve got plenty of other plans for this dress. I think the price per wear is now down to mere pennies.

Disc earrings

Simple patterned disc earrings, from a clearance sale on Fashion Bug’s website a couple years ago, kept me from wearing the hematite bead set again.

Tights and flats

I love the texture of these tights. I wish I could order them in every color, but this year’s inventory at Lane Bryant seems to be limited to grey, brown, and black; the hot pinks tights were an anomaly.

(Side note: the bright $5 colored tights at Target are low-rise, which, as it turns out, don’t work well with my body shape. Definitely time for a We Love Colors order!)

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 10 Nov 2011

  1. What is up with tights being low-rise anyway? How can they possibly stay up on anyone’s body shape? You nailed one of my pet peeves, LOL! I live out in the middle of nowhere, so it’s very difficult to find regular-rise tights.

  2. I imagine the low-rise tights are good when wearing low-rise shorts and skirts, which (to me) seems to be the fashion among the younger, high-school crowd. I usually wear skirts at my natural waist, or a little higher. My hips are wide and my waist is small, so with my body shape, I really have no need for the low-rise tights. I’d rather have the top of the tights come up under my bra line.

    My pet peeve is control-top tights. It’s quite a feat for me to find plus-size tights that are not control-top. They are difficult to get on without sweating and grunting; I’d rather be comfortable than constricted!

Leave a Reply

