Outfitblogging 14 Nov 2011

Brown cardigan with "nerd" socks

Shirt: Old Navy (summer 2011)
Camisole: Old Navy (summer 2011)
Cardigan: Target (fall 2011)
Earrings: Claire’s (fall 2008)
Necklace: Claire’s (fall 2009)
Socks: Sock Dreams (fall 2011)
Shoes: Aerosoles (winter 2003)

I’m going to let you guys in on a little secret: I do not have a full-length mirror at home. Most days, I don’t know what my outfit looks like until I get to work and check out the photos I’ve taken that morning. This can be good, in a way, as I don’t knitpick over every little thing about my outfit. Other times, I end up with something I don’t love, like today.

The high in DC today hit 73°F, and I wanted to dress in layers. My office has been weird with the heat, leaving me wondering if I’ll ever be able to wear to work any my chunky knit sweaters this winter. Looking back, I’m not sure about today’s combo… but I also don’t hate it, either.

Earrings with bling

I am pleased my hair is long enough to start wearing back in combs again. Just one more week until my next hair appointment, where I’ll decide how short I want to go again. This is starting to feel too long for me.

"Nerd" socks

Nerd socks! I love love love Sock Dreams. A new order will be placed soon, before the holidays. Perhaps some lovely socks for some people in my family?

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 14 Nov 2011

  1. Your hair looks great pulled back! My hair’s starting to grow out a bit, and while part of me wants to shave it all off, another part of me wants to grow it a little longer and start playing with it. But knowing me, I wouldn’t ACTUALLY play with it, and it would just look messy and terrible.

    I think the proportions of this outfit might be a bit off, although I like the colors. Maybe if the cardigan were shorter? I don’t own a full-length mirror either, so I know what you mean about not knowing what it really looks like.

    Allllso, those NERD socks are crazy great. I’d been admiring the different word ones on Sock Dreams but wasn’t sure whether they’d be comfy. They look great on you, though, so maybe I’ll have to go make a purchase…

  2. I think my calves might be the upper limit of the stretch on these socks! Mine measure 18″ and the top of the socks do start to look a little on the stretched-out side. I’ve had luck with the two pairs of Sock Dreams socks I’ve bought so far, and I hope I can keep up that streak.

    I think you’re right about the proportions: either a straighter skirt or a shorter cardigan would probably make this a bit better.

Leave a Reply

