Outfitblogging 21 Nov 2011

Striped sweater with maxi skirt

Sweater: Fashion Bug (winter 2011)
Skirt: Lane Bryant (spring 2009)
Earrings: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Necklace: Claire’s (fall 2009)
Socks: Target (summer 2011)
Shoes: Target (summer 2011)

Yesterday was my first day back to work after lounging on my couch in my pajamas with my work laptop, and I dressed mostly for comfort. I tried a belt with this at first, but it didn’t feel comfortable, and I didn’t have one that was bright enough to break up the black of the sweater with the black of the skirt. Figured it was easier to keep it simple.

I love this sweater, but it was not made with boobs in mind. Notice how the stripes curve up? The bottom front of this sweater, when worn, is a few inches shorter than the bottom back. This is why I knit my sweaters with short rows in the bust area.

Hoop earrings and drop necklace

Simple accessories as well. However, you may notice my haircut! On Saturday, I kept my appointment, hoping that getting out of the house for a while would improve not only my health but my spirits. I was right on the latter; I came home and spent the rest of the afternoon watching How It’s Made on the Science Channel.

The hair at the back of my neck was driving my crazy, but I liked the way the front swooped across my eyes. I also had, for the first time ever in my life, my eyebrows waxed. So weird. That experience may warrant a separate post that may come after the Thanksgiving holidays.

Argyle skulls

With the dark bottom half, I needed a little something with color on my feet to add some smiles to my day. In the past six months, I don’t think I’ve ever left Target without at least one pair of $1.50 ankle socks. Thank goodness my office doesn’t have any policies about not wearing happy little argyle skulls to work.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 21 Nov 2011

  1. Crystal says:

    I really like this outfit. I always hesitate when thinking about buying long skirts because I have short legs, and a) for some reason, they make long skirts really long. I don’t know how to hem – yet – and I feel like I’ll never get someone else to do it, and b) even with the skirt hemmed, I look awkward because of my short legs and regular sized torso. This shirt of yours blends the bottom color into the dress, which creates a sense of lengthening in the legs. This is something for me to consider when going through my own wardrobe.

  2. Mia says:

    I think this looks great, milady–like it’s all one piece, a dress or something. I’m glad it was comfy, that’s so important when one’s not feeling one’s best (at least, it is to me).

    I love your sock collection, too. They always make me smile, and remind me that I’ve got some pretty awesome socks at my disposal.

Leave a Reply

