Outfitblogging 28 Nov 2011

Blue shirt with pencil skirt

Shirt: Lane Bryant (summer 2011)
Skirt: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Earrings: Claire’s (fall 2008)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Hosiery: forgotten
Shoes: T.U.K. at ModCloth (fall 2011)

Guys. I’m just going to be honest here. I’ve not got much to say about much of the outfit here. It’s really all about the shoes. However, I’ll give a little background first.

I bought this shirt over the summer, when I realized I had a funeral to attend but no hot-weather, event-appropriate clothing. I had just bought a new black linen suit for an interview, but with the June heat and the sweating, it needed to be cleaned before being worn again. I ran down to the Lane Bryant a few blocks from my (then) job and picked out a blouse that seemed most satisfactory without needing to buy another new suit.

Pearl necklace, rhinestone earrings

A classy shirt and pencil skirt like this require the timelessness of (fake) pearls. Triple-stranded, of course.

Whisker Sweet Nothings

Now. What I’m most excited about with the days’ wear: the shoes.

I didn’t mean to buy these shoes, not really. Over the holiday, I’d received a belated birthday gift from Matt’s family that included a few books of knitting patterns. On Thursday evening, after hopping into pajamas and plopping on the couch after a full day’s worth of cranberries and stuffing, I popped online to update my Ravelry library and my Amazon wishlist. After clicking a few links around Amazon’s recommended items, I came across these little kitties on ModCloth.

I squeed and I cooed for a few minutes, debating the purchase. I’d just ordered a couple things online, and was still waiting for them; I also didn’t want to spend all my holiday shopping money before December had even started. Regardless, these cuties were not to be resisted. They were on sale for under $30 (the price has since gone back up) and I didn’t even have to grab my wallet from my purse upstairs—ModCloth accepts PayPal. I sat right there on the couch in the basement, watching Castle on the Tivo in my PJs.

Wait, did I say I bought these shoes on Thursday nights? A holiday? Thanksgiving Thursday? Yes indeed, my friends. I placed my order on Thursday at 9:09pm; when Matt went out on Saturday morning to run errands at Target, a ModCloth package was sitting in our front door. For serious. Holy crap, that was quick service! I didn’t even choose expedited shipping!

ModCloth, you are my new best friend.

Oh, yes: I’m also still waiting for the dress I ordered last Monday to arrive, but I won’t hold that against anyone.

3 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 28 Nov 2011

  1. Crystal says:

    Those are the cutest shoes ever! I am wary of buying shoes online, though. I have blocks for feet, and my shoes range from 8 to 9. Most shoes won’t fit me at all because they’re made for more delicate feet… not these “Flinstone feet” I have (as my grandfather used to call them). It’s too bad because the best shoes are always online.

  2. 1. That outfit looks GREAT on you! Gives you nice shape and looks so classy.

    2. Those shoes are FREAKING AWESOME!!!! I hope they are comfortable, cuz they are absolutely adorable! Meow! ;)

  3. Crystal: one of the tricks I’ve found to ordering shoes online is brand consistency; it’s not an absolute guarantee, but I’ve found that if I have and love a pair of shoes, chances are a similar style in that brand will fit me. This pair is T.U.K., and I already have a pair I bought and tried on in a store. This may not work if the styles are widely different (an evening heel vs. an athletic sneaker) but it’s usually how I find success.

    Melissa: they are comfortable! I did bring flats with me, because I do find driving in heels to be an adventure, and I wouldn’t want to go hiking in them, but for general, all-purpose, working and commuting, they were perfectly fine on my feet—even with new-shoe break-in.

Leave a Reply

