Outfitblogging 29 Nov 2011

Sweater and a pencil skirt

Sweater: Lane Bryant (fall 2011)
Skirt: Dress Barn (fall 2011)
Earrings: Torrid (spring 2008)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (fall 2009)
Belt: Ashley Stewart (spring 2009)
Shoes: Aerosoles (fall 2007)

I bought this sweater back in September, and have been waiting for an opportunity to wear it to work. I’d worn it once before, with slacks on a date with Matt, but really had just one skirt I thought it would pair well with, and I feel like I’d already worn that too recently. (Looking back, I realize that was a month since. I should read my own blog more!)

On the Tuesday before Thanksgiving, I took the long way home from work to avoid the mega traffic on the congested highways, and found a Dress Barn conveniently located next to the Panera where I’d planned to grab a quick sandwich. 30 minutes and just $20 later, I got back in my car with this cute skirt. It will need to be tailored eventually, as the waist is a tad big on me.

Chunky bronze necklace

When I first bought this necklace, I was intimidated by the chunky necklace trend; I figured I would try it, and it looked really good the one time (of two) I wore my not-quite-red blazer. Since then, I would try it on then immediately take it off and find something more subdued. This habit, I think, came from a long-held belief that fat girls should try to hide themselves, and this necklace dramatically calls attention to the wearer.

I’m so glad I wore it on Tuesday; it was the hit of the day! Many a coworker asked me where I bought it or told me how awesome it looked with this sweater.

Vintage-inspired peep toe shoes

For being one of my favorite pairs of shoes, I’m surprised it’s taken me this long to feature them on the blog! While they are peep-toe, the mustard and brown colors make me think of fall, and that’s usually when I end up wearing them most. Winter often gets too cold, even with tights, to don this beauties, but I try anyway. I’m sure you’ll see them again soon.

One thought on “Outfitblogging 29 Nov 2011

  1. I love this outfit and I think you look fabulous in it! The necklace is beautiful and OH MY GOSH – those rockin’ shoes! Love them!

    luckeysgoods.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

