Outfitblogging 2 Dec 2011

Cardigan and scarf over skirt

Cardigan: Target (fall 2011)
Shirt: My Baby Jo (spring 2011)
Skirt: eShakti (fall 2011)
Earrings: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Scarf: Target (fall 2011)
Tights: We Love Colors (fall 2011)
Shoes: Aerosoles (winter 2011)

New tights from We Love Colors! I’ve seen other style bloggers rocking the primary colors, and I thought I would try it out here. It’s not my best look, but I don’t hate it either. I think the blue should have been more prominent; perhaps swapping the colors of the cardigan and the shirt would lead me to liking this outfit a bit more.

Mustard scarf

Another fashion scarf bought at Target last week. By the time the season is over, I’m going to have a million of these things! I started off with two at the end of summer—one a gift from a friend, one recently procured—and now I’ve got at least six that I can think of off the top of my head.

Tights and flats

I’m ridiculously pleased with my new tights. I just picked up two new colors this time, and the fit and feel are wonderful. I grabbed the C/D size of nylon/lycra solid tights, and they’ve stayed in place all day. The top of the tights do come up extraordinarily high! If I didn’t tuck it in under my bra, I probably could have pulled them up and over my boobs, and that’s saying something.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 2 Dec 2011

  1. Sometimes it’s easy; if there’s a patten in an item, I pull other pieces out based on those colors in the pattern. With an outfit like this, I based it on primary colors (red, yellow, blue) but in some darker tones instead of bright ones. I had maroon tights, so I chose a mustard scarf and navy shirt. Rose tights could have been paired with butter and periwinkle.

    Most of the time, however, I just make stuff up. Even though I studied art in high school (and almost went on to major in an art college!) I’m not an expert on color theory. A lot of times I just hold things up to each other and ask myself “How does this look?” If I don’t wrinkle my nose in disgust, I wear it together. It’s surprising how often this method yields good results!

Leave a Reply

