Season’s greetings!

Miracle on 34th Street

End-of-year vacations! I am off work until January 3rd, and will be spending the next week and a half doing fun things: visiting family, knitting, catching up on tv, unpacking the last of my boxes from moving (yes, from July), wrapping and giving presents, eating cookies, exploring DC, and getting my annual lady physical. Posting may be limited during this time; I am not sure yet. Still, I will be taking outfit photos, even if they are not posted on a daily basis.

Whatever you believe or don’t believe, this time of year is an amazing opportunity to spend time with family (however you define it) and participate in holiday traditions (whether old, new, or remade how you like them). As a secular humanist, I don’t celebrate Christmas in the religious sense, but I use this time to reflect on the year and make plans for the new one, to spend time with my parents and brother, especially now that I live farther away from them, and to tell my friends how much I love them, no matter what method that may take.

This shouldn’t be a time of year to feel guilt or regret; it’s taken me a long time to realize that, but now I look forward to the holidays instead of dreading them. I give gifts made with love instead of worrying about how much I’m spending; I eat the tasty food my friends and family have made instead of feeling shame with each spoon of stuffing or each cookie; I tell people what I love about them instead of fighting over politics or religion.

The short of it is: enjoy the next couple weeks. Make it a season of peace and joy, of wintertime celebrations and new year reflections. I plan to make the most of it, starting with a mug of hot cocoa in front of the fireplace.

One thought on “Season’s greetings!

Leave a Reply

