Illness and recovery

sick day

I can’t even begin to describe how ill I’ve been over the past week and a half. I barely had enough energy to read blogs, let alone update my own. I spent most of the time on the couch, cuddled under the electric blanket and watching Happy Town, Law and Order, and Ghost Whisperer through half-asleep eyes.

I have written about this before, the last time I was sick, but I’m curious about people’s clothing and style when they are not feeling well. For the first couple days of staying home, I wore my winter pajamas: a Nick & Nora fleece set from Target, with playful snow puppies on the bottom with a coordinating solid top. I covered that with my L.L.Bean fleece robe, and followed up with slipper socks.

By the end of the week, I was still too sick to go to work, but I was getting a bit of cabin fever. Instead of my pajamas, I switched to leggings and tee shirts over thermals. I was still super comfortable (within the means of the illness, you understand) but I felt like I actually got up and dressed like a normal person.

Do you stay in pajamas when you are sick, or do you get dressed in an effort to make yourself feel better? Do you lounge around in bed, or prefer to sit up with blankets on the couch?

This week I am back at work, but still recovering; my outfits are mostly repeats of things I put together for comfort so I don’t have to think about styling anything new. I do have a few outfit posts coming up, photos taken before the flu hit me with hurricane force winds, that you should see over the next few days.

Photo credit: “sick day” from theloushe

4 thoughts on “Illness and recovery

  1. Karl says:

    Oh dear! I’m sorry you were so sick.

    I stay in my pajamas pretty late when I’m ill, but I try to get dressed eventually, just so I don’t feel weird when I go back to sleep. I don’t think I dress any differently than how I usually do, except maybe with more warm layers and less concern about wearing some of the more ridiculous sweatshirts that I’ve received as presents over the years.

  2. Mia says:

    I most definitely will take any excuse to wear pajamas when I’m sick/not feeling well. Although, as a caveat, clean pajamas are of the utmost importance because, for me, even two days in the same pair and I start to smell like a sweaty sick person, which is just depressing. (As a side-note, I pretty much lived in pajamas for the six months I was unemployed after college graduation, except for when I had to leave the house. But I was also depressed, so it wasn’t so much a comfort thing as an I-can’t-summon-up-the-energy-to-dress-myself thing.)

  3. Mia says:

    By the way, I’m glad you’re feeling better, and hope you reach optimum healthitude again here soon!

  4. Crystal says:

    I always wear pajama pants in my house (or stretchy capris like I am now), a t-shirt, and a long sleeved shirt/hoodie over that. When I’m sick, I like to also wear my pink, fluffy, zippered robe. I then sit on the couch and play video games in between taking naps.

Leave a Reply

