Outfitblogging 4 Jan 2012

Cowl-neck sweater over maxi skirt

Sweater: Lane Bryant (winter 2010)
Skirt: Lane Bryant (summer 2009)
Boots: Style & Co., Macy’s (fall 2010)
Earrings: Fashion Bug (spring 2010)

This outfit was built for warmth! I woke up that morning to hear that the temperatures in DC were hovering around 19 degrees F. I worried. I started rummaging around my room looking for something to keep me from freezing on the bus. I pulled out my favorite, warmest sweater and got to work compiling an outfit.

You can’t see it in the photos, but there’s a lot going on under the surface. I’ve got on a thin thermal tee shirt beneath this sweater; while it is one of my warmest, I knew I’d need a little something extra. And under the skirt? Thermal long-johns covered with thick black leggings.

Flower earrings

The neckline of the sweater means I don’t have to wear a necklace with it, but I picked cute little earrings that pretty much work with everything I own, except maybe the formal wear.

Boots

Boots. These boots are not necessarily warm, but they can be when you layer them with two pairs of thick socks. It took me a few minutes to loosen the laces on these so I could fit my sock-covered feet back into them.

3 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 4 Jan 2012

  1. Mia says:

    Aw, dang. And here I was tootling about my day, grumping about it being in the fifties and being chilly. I am not a coldweather survivor, I guess is what this proves. You make toasty look stylish, though!

  2. Totally prepared! If there’s snow up to my eyeballs, I only need to swap out the black boots for my Merrell snow boots instead.

    Although today the temps reached the low 60s. I have no idea what’s going on with winter around here.

Leave a Reply

