Outfitblogging 11 Jan 2012

Maxi skirt and shawl

Shirt: Old Navy (summer 2011)
Cami: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Shawl: hand-knit, Maple Creek Farms (spring 2011)
Skirt: Lane Bryant (spring 2009)
Earrings: gift from mom (fall 2009)

Another outfit based on one item, and this time it’s the hand-knit shawl! I bought the yarn last October at NY Sheep and Wool festival in Rhinebeck, worked on the Trinity Shawlette last spring, and finally blocked the piece a couple weeks ago.

Sadly, this shirt has developed a small stain near the neckline; it’s a tiny discoloration that’s probably only noticed by me, but still. I can get away with a few more wears by adding scarves or shawls to the outfit. I added the green cami, peeking out of the hemline, to bring the colors together.

Shawl

Here’s a close up of the shawl. It’s not a full-size shawl (more of a shawlette, as noted in the pattern’s title) and it’s just big enough to wrap around my neck. I love the colors, which pulled me over to it at Rhinebeck in the first place. I had no idea what I was going to knit with it at that time, but knew I needed to bring it home with me.

Earrings and shawl

I topped it all off with the earrings from my mother. They do seem to go with everything!

I must have been wearing my black boots with this outfit, because I can’t figure out why I wouldn’t have taken any shoe photos that day.

3 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 11 Jan 2012

  1. I love the green/purple combination. It’s fabulous. Also, there’s a special skill in being able to hide stains and keep garments rocking along.

  2. Tia: I thought you would love the color combo! I was thinking of you when coming up with a shirt to pair with the shawl; you always make the green/purple look good.

    Mia: I know! I’m more drawn to subtle variations in color and not to huge variegations which tend to pool. The shades of green are just right, and the little flecks throughout are super cute and break up the greens just right.

Leave a Reply

