Outfitblogging 13 Mar 2012

100_3282

Shirt: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Skirt: handmade, sewn by me (winter 2012)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (summer 2009)
Earrings: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)
Shoes: Eurostep, at Famous Footwear (summer 2011)

You guys. I wanted a striped knit jersey maxi skirt, and I effing got a striped knit jersey maxi skirt. One I made. I made this skirt. It is not the most elaborate of garments, believe me, but it’s soft and comfortable and I freaking made it myself. I read the tutorials from threadbare and from Megan Nielsen before hitting Jo-ann and finding the right fabric. It took me just a few hours to pop this together. It felt like I was wearing pajamas all day.

100_3281

The casual skirt and top made me feel a little underdressed for work. I paired the outfit with a loud necklace to seem a touch more appropriate for work.

100_3279

Same with the shoes! I couldn’t just wear flats; too casual. Here are heels that haven’t been seen since last summer, and rightly so—they are summer shoes. But with the temperatures in the upper 70s and low 80s in DC that week, they were definitely called for.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 13 Mar 2012

  1. Mia says:

    *applause* Loooove it! You look great, too! I always feel weirdly casual in super-long skirts, but this looks completely put-together and comfy.

Leave a Reply

