Outfitblogging 21 Jun 2012

White blouse and black maxi skirt

Blouse: Lane Bryant (spring 2007)
Skirt: Lane Bryant (summer 2009)
Socks: Target (spring 2012)
Shoes: Dansko, at DSW (winter 2012)
Earrings: Torrid (fall 2006)
Necklace: gift from Matt’s parents (Christmas 2011)

Holy crap, you guys. It’s hot as balls outside. Not just a little warm, but full on “heat advisory” hot. I’m sure some people are laughing at us, in our little northeastern heat panic mode, but when you are not used to weather like this, it gets pretty bad. I opted for an outfit on the cooler side today. The skirt is black, yes, but it’s super silky to the touch. The long sleeves and the maxi skirt kept a lot of my body covered, which is better for me than tank tops and shorts in weather like this.

Guitar pick necklace

Accessories are minimal, because I didn’t really want anything huge or bulky hanging on my skin, getting sweaty and making me feel gross.

Striped socks and Danskos

Socks! I’m a huge fan of wearing socks in hot weather. Some people I know wear next to nothing in the summer, eschewing things like socks, bras, and underpants, but I actually feel much cooler and much less sticky with good support.

One thought on “Outfitblogging 21 Jun 2012

  1. if it makes you feel any better, I had a friend tell me once that in his experience, DC just edges out Chapel Hill, NC for summer heat. So, anyone in the US who doesn’t live in the deep south doesn’t get to bitch to me about the heat where they live.

    Now the folks in the deep south, I alternate between being impressed by what they can put up with, and thinking they’re a bunch of idiots for not moving.

Leave a Reply

