Outfitblogging 6 Jul 2012

100_3529

Shirt: Treasure Cove Thrift Shop (spring 2012)
Tank top: Target (summer 2011)
Skirt: eShakti (fall 2011)
Earrings: Torrid (fall 2006)
Necklace: gift from Matt’s parents (Christmas 2011)
Shoes: Dansko at The Walking Company (spring 2012)

Holy balls, last week was hot as hell! (Or is that the other way around?) Besides hitting over 100 F, the derecho whipped through the Friday before, knocking out power in my neighborhood for over four days. Four days! No air conditioning, no refrigeration. While I love my little home, apartment living made it worse, with no way to open doors and windows to allow for proper air ventilation. I stayed at Matt’s house that week; his place was spared and remained one of few with power the entire time.

100_3527

The weather is still hot and humid, but it’s finally dropped down to the low 90s instead. For this outfit last Friday, I took color and style inspiration from Sal, pairing the bright yellow and orange shirt with the hot pink tank top and earrings. The bright! The colors! My department supervisor said her 7-year-old daughter would love my colors; was that a compliment?

100_3525

I really like the look of the knotted shirt over the longer tank top, but I’m not sure about the skirt. This may look cuter over a pair of fitted capris, or maybe my solid black maxi skirt. I’m physically more comfortable in circle or full skirts, but summer is giving a hard time with styling. I wonder if I can make some warm-weather pencil skirts instead?

I miss winter. The layers, they are calling to me.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 6 Jul 2012

  1. I dig it with the skirt, to be honest. I don’t think you’ve anything to be uncertain about, unless it felt weird. The colors here are totally fabulous, and I’m digging hard on the knotted top. :)

  2. Mia says:

    Eee, I love this! And like Tia, I actually think it works really well with the skirt–the neutral grounds it a bit, but it still looks fun and exciting. it has been hot as hell/balls here too, but I guess I should be grateful that we haven’t had any power outages yet (just a freak five-minute rainstorm last night!).

Leave a Reply

