Outfitblogging 12 Nov 2012

Flower-print dress with cardigan

Dress: eShakti (spring 2012)
Camisole: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Cardigan: Lane Bryant (spring 2011)
Earrings: Optimystical Studios, at Geek Girl Con (summer 2012)
Tights: We Love Colors (winter 2012)
Shoes: Fluevog (fall 2012)

I pretty much copied the same outfit I wore last month and swapped out the legwear and shoes. But… the shoes! The shoes. Really, this is all about the shoes. I never considered myself a shoe-person, seriously, until I learned that sometimes it is worth it to spend more than $20 on a quality pair.

Copper and blue earrings

I wore these earrings to bring out the blue in the dress, and to complement the tights and the shoes. The shoes!

Teal tights and blue Fluevogs

These shoes came home with me on Sunday, and I knew that I needed to wear them on Monday. My birthday was last week, and when Matt wanted to know what I would like as a gift, I asked if we could go to the fairly-newly-opened Fluevog store in DC. While I do appreciate the quality of a pair of Fluevogs, I also knew that, left to my own devices, I would try on several pair and leave the store empty-handed. I can be a brat like that, sometimes.

Behold! My new Fluevogs.

I did indeed try on several pair. I loved the Elif, but the 8s were a tad too big, and the store was sold out of 7.5s. I was then leaning toward the Bunny when my clerk threw a wrench at me. “A little random, but I thought you might want to try these.”

At first, I wasn’t impressed. I wanted my inaugural pair of Fluevogs to be… well, Fluevogs. But holy cow! So comfortable. The color is gorgeous, and for some reason, it reminds me of my grandmother. I wore these all day Monday, walking to work, with no issues.

I’m already planning to wear these at least once a week now, maybe more.

4 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 12 Nov 2012

  1. I just can’t bring myself to spend $300+ on a pair of shoes. I don’t care how comfortable they are. They could feel like I’m walking on a cloud and having an orgasm with every step, but I still couldn’t buy them. I would never be able to wear them! I would always feel guilty and worried that I would mess them up. I will be less comfortable in my $20 clearance shoes from Off Broadway and still feel much better about myself than if I had spent $300 on a pair of Fleuvogs. I’m just cheap, I guess.

  2. Item comfort isn’t just about physical feelings, but also about emotional ones. If you’re going to be guilty and worried all day, then the other things aren’t going to matter much. I wouldn’t call you cheap for not wanting to spend that kind of money on shoes. Besides comfort, it also comes down to personal priorities on finances, and what you’d be willing to spend on certain items. Me, I would never spend $3K on jewelry, no matter how gorgeous, because I know I would feel terrible wearing it, and would much rather put on my $10 Target “pearls”. I know people who wear $20 jeans but splurge hundreds of dollars on bags and purses.

Leave a Reply

