Outfitblogging 19 Nov 2012

Versatility shawl over dress

Dress: eShakti (fall 2012)
Shawl/wrap: Hand-knit Versatility, using Ultrabulky (winter 2012)
Earrings: gift from parents, Alaska (fall 2011)
Necklace: gift from parents, Alaska (fall 2011)
Tights: We Love Colors (winter 2012)
Shoes: Fluevog (fall 2012)

Finally! I had knit this great piece last winter, but didn’t get around to blocking it until just a couple weeks ago. I spent election night at my kitchen table, listening to results on our local NPR station and sticking lots of little pins into my knitting.

Versatility

So what is this thing? It’s a scarf, a wrap, a shawl, a sweater… hence the pattern name, Versatility. It’s just really one long rectangle, with a simple cable pattern in the middle. The buttons sewn up one side are what make the piece so flexible. Connect it up in different ways to create new pieces. Here, I buttoned up the sides to make sleeves, and threw it on over my dress.

Hematite beaded necklace and earrings

The pewter buttons on the wrap match the pewter buckles on my shoes, but additional pewter accessories may have been a bit much. Instead, I went with the hematite set my parents brought back from Alaska for me last year.

Fluevogs and tights

I swear I will never get good photographic evidence of the amazing purple color of these tights. In person, the color is much closer to that of the wrap. Something in them makes it near impossible to get the right color in photos!

Leave a Reply

