Outfitblogging 10 Jan 2013

Polka dot dress with brogues

Dress: eShakti (winter 2013)
Earrings: Optimystical Studios, at GeekGirlCon (summer 2012)
Socks: Target
Shoes: Wanted, at ModCloth (spring 2012)

It has been far too long since I’ve blogged an outfit post, but just take a look at this adorable dress! When I saw it on the eShakti website (I sadly cannot find it now), it immediately went into my cart. I love it, absolutely, and the fit is amazing.

Recently, for the first time ever, I had to return an item to eShakti for a very terrible fit, and I realized something: I have a short torso, and in all the measurements to fill out for a custom order, this is not one of them. When I ordered a blouse a couple months ago, I was dismayed when I tried it on, but in scrutinizing the fit in the mirror, I noticed that in order for it to look better at the bust and waist, I needed to pull the shoulders up about two inches. Then I understood the issues!

When I ordered this dress, and another one I hope to wear soon, I emailed eShakti with my order number and my back measurement from shoulder to natural waist, which they then added to my information sheet. I am so happy I asked them about the additional measurements! It really helped in making this dress fit especially well.

Long story short (too late!): it never hurts to ask a business for service that’s not explicitly stated.

Small green drop earrings

I didn’t want to take away from the cuteness of the dress with clunky accessories, so I opted to leave off the necklace and add small, complimentary earrings.

I also need to find a new place to take photos before work. This winter, not only are the trees bare and the sun in a different position, but a few of the trees on the block have been drastically pruned or removed completely. I’d hate to give up the natural light to move indoors.

Brogues and ankle socks

I’m in love with the look of these shoes, but not the feel. I mentioned in a previous post that the toe box was a little snug when they first arrived, but that’s not even the biggest issue now. After a few wearings, the insole at the heel has broken in, and I can feel the post in the middle of the heel. I’m hoping this is something easily solved with some sort of Dr. Scholl’s product.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 10 Jan 2013

  1. Mia says:

    Ugh, I hate that thing with heel posts. I hope you find a solution!

    That dress is ahhhhhmazing, and suits you really well. I’m glad you mentioned about torso length, too! I have a long torso (seriously, Tia and I have stood back to back and our legs are the same length–all the height I have over her is in my torso), so often the waist on dresses hits me in really strange places. I mostly put up with it, but I’m going to keep my back measurement in mind if/when I get another eShakti dress.

  2. Last month I attended a knitting workshop with one of my favorite designers and learned a lot about knitting sweaters to fit. The information was also really good in learning about the shape of my body (which I understood) and how clothing can fit it properly (which I am still figuring out). It made me realize what the issue with some of my dresses was!

    I also picked up some gel heel cups at CVS last night. I’ll post about how they work when I wear these shoes again.

Leave a Reply

