Outfitblogging 16 Feb 2013

Hand-knit sweater and skinny jeans

Sweater: Hand-knit Francis Revisited, using Ultra Alpaca (summer 2012)
Jeans: Torrid (summer 2012)
Socks: Target
Shoes: Wanted, via ModCloth (spring 2012)
Earrings: Optimystical Studios, at GeekGirlCon (summer 2012)
Necklace: gift from parents (Christmas 2012)

This past Saturday, I took the train up to NYC to attend an event put on by Epic Win Burlesque. This show’s theme? Musicals! I’d been to shows several times before, but getting to NYC is a little more difficult since I moved to DC from Philadelphia. With the temperatures turning chilly again, and with a 4+ hour one-way trip, I wanted to wear something warm, cozy, and comfortable, but still chic enough for date night.

The best adaptation of The Glass Menagerie in the history of all time. @ewburlesque

Above is a perfectly safe-for-work snapshot I grabbed at the show. Did you ever think you’d see a seriously sexy burlesque version of Tennessee William’s The Glass Menagerie? Yeah, me neither.

Green necklace and earrings

This alpaca-blend sweater is wonderfully warm, and is the best-fitting garment I have knit so far. I love the cowl neck, even though it doesn’t always look great on me. I needed something to break up the heaviness of my bust, so I added this chunky green necklace my parents gave me this past Christmas. The little earrings go well without being absolutely matchy-match.

Cream and brown brogues

My original plan for this outfit included my knee high boots, but I knew I’d be walking around quite a bit. I tried a few different comfy walking shoes, and settled on these brogues. (They really do feel so much with the gel heel cups!) Because I also like the look of no socks with oxfords, I followed Angie’s lead of pairing my shoes with nude knee-high socks.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 16 Feb 2013

  1. Mia says:

    I think the cowl-neck looks great on you, and I like how you layered the necklace with it–I struggle with jewelry when I’m wearing anything cowl-neck, which probably just means I need longer necklaces or something. Also, 100% jealous of the burlesque show, I’ve always wanted to go to one! (Well, not always. Probably not when I was like 8. But you know what I mean.)

  2. I like having a variety of necklace lengths, for different necklines. One of the things I learned in the Knit to Flatter workshop is ideal neck depth. It doesn’t mean that all my necklines have to hit that depth, but the design or the accessories should keep that in mind. So… while I have a heavy bust, I can still wear cowl necks, but maybe add a necklace like I did here. I think this combination on me looks better than a cowl-neck with no jewelry.

Leave a Reply

