Outfitblogging 21 Feb 2013

Striped sweater with flared skirt

Sweater: Fashion Bug (winter 2011)
Skirt: eShakti (winter 2012)
Tights: Lane Bryant
Shoes: John Fluevog (winter 2013)
Necklace: gift from Matt’s parents (Christmas 2012)
Earrings: Torrid (summer 2012)

A few weeks ago, I walked down to the Fluevog store in Georgetown, in a snowstorm, just to check out the last legs of their winter sale. Alli has been on my mind for a while, but the store didn’t have anything near my size in stock. Apparently, the Alli is quite a popular shoe. I planned to leave without trying on anything else… and then I spied these babies. How could I resist a shoe named Kitschy Kitschy Boom Boom Liz? I wore them to karaoke a couple weeks back, but hadn’t put together a workday outfit yet. I had other ideas, but this sweater finally came out of my closet, and I noticed it would look great with these shoes.

Black and silver accessories

I wore this combination of necklace and earrings last week, without realizing it. (Coincidentally, that dress is one thing I would love to pair with these shoes.) I’m not sure if I am stuck in an accessory rut, or if I’m just figuring out a new minimal accessory style. I’ve got necklaces and earrings and scarves I haven’t worn in a while, and some not at all yet. Maybe a new style challenge?

Kitschy Kitschy Boom Boom Liz

Oh, Fluevog shoes. I’m sorry it’s taken us so long to finally meet. Since I first saw one of your pair over twenty years ago, I’ve longed for you, sighed over your footwear, cooed over people rockin’ your styles. Now I have two pair, and am officially in love. Maybe one day, your sister Alli will come to live with us as well.

3 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 21 Feb 2013

  1. Mia says:

    Ahhh! Tia recently got Fluevogs too and sent me a picture–between the two of you, the brand is totally on my mind. I definitely pair certain items in my jewelry box together unconsciously, sometimes because I got them at around the same time and sometimes just because they go well together. Anyway, there’s nothing wrong with sticking to a combo that works.

  2. @Laura: Thanks! I do love this color. The black pair with the hot pink piping is also great, but this one will fit into my wardrobe a little better.

    @Mia: If you have a chance to get a pair, do it! They are an investment, but I figure these aren’t shoes I’m going to wear for just one season. I’m keeping an eye out on eBay for cheaper pairs.

Leave a Reply

