Outfitblogging 23 Mar 2013

Plaid swing dress

Dress: eShakti (winter 2013)
Petticoat: Domino Dollhouse (winter 2012)
Belt: Target (winter 2012)
Garter belt: Lady Grace (spring 2009)
Stockings: Berkshire (winter 2012)
Shoes: Fluevog (fall 2012)
Earrings: Optimystical Studios, at Geek Girl Con (summer 2012)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (winter 2005)
Fascinator: Lane Bryant (winter 2012)

Last weekend, I went to a wedding. The bride and groom have actually been married since Christmas; they had a small, private family ceremony then, and planned a spectacular party for spring. The event was more casual than the wedding I attended last year, but of course I am not one to let an opportunity to dress up a little just pass me by.

The “new for spring” email from eShakti had barely been opened before this dress found its way into my shopping cart. I knew it would be perfect for Easter as well as the wedding, but it’s also easy enough to dress down for work with a cardigan and a pair of oxfords.

Peacock fascinator

I’ve had this necklace for a while now, and the length was perfect with the neckline of this dress. And finally, an occasion to wear my peacock/flower fascinator! I picked this up on clearance as an impulse purchase at Lane Bryant last year, but never a good excuse to wear it. Although… maybe I should stop looking for reasons and just start wearing more hats, clips, barrettes, and fascinators.

Fluevogs

As much as I love wearing tights, I hate wearing pantyhose. If I’m going to choose hosiery for an event such as this, it’s going to be stockings. Proper thigh-high stockings, with a proper garter belt. I bought this belt at Lady Grace, where I was first fit for an amazingly well-fitting bra. When I complained about garter belts always snapping on me, the clerk brought me this one, with metal fasteners instead of plastic ones. Four years later, with nary a snap or break.

These really are great shoes for wearing to events where standing for a long time is expected. We did sit down for a lovely dinner, but most of the evening was spent socializing and mixing and dancing. I did try my other Fluevogs but this color just matched so well with the dress. It was inevitable.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 23 Mar 2013

  1. Mia says:

    So cute! I am pleasantly surprised at how well the peacock feathers go with the plaid, I like it a lot.

  2. That dress is AMAZING! As soon as I saw it, I literally gasped. I love it and really want one! Your entire ensemble looks fantastic. I love how everything coordinates, especially the colors in the dress and your hair accessory. <3

Leave a Reply

