Outfitblogging 26 Apr 2013

Adam Warrock tee shirt with skirt and cardigan

Shirt: Adam Warrock at Nerdapalooza (summer 2012)
Cardigan: Lane Bryant (summer 2011)
Skirt: Fashion Bug (fall 2012)
Earrings: Torrid (summer 2012)
Socks: Target
Shoes: Bamboo, at ModCloth (winter 2012)

I have so many tee shirts I never wear. I often need to buy men’s XXL sized tees, because babydoll and girlie shirts are never big enough for me. I then get stuck with boxy shirts on a curvy figure, and a crew neck that never looks quite right.

I thought I would give it a shot here, but something’s just a little bit off. The skirt length? The fullness? That blasted crew neck? Lack of a belt? Tell me, oh dear internets, what would you do differently with this combination?

Silver hoops

The bursts of color on the skirt made me opt for simple earrings, and the crew neck of the tee led me to skip out on a necklace. Believe me, I tried a variety of them!

Pink and cream oxfords

The socks call back to the colors of the tee shirt, and the shoes always look do darned cute with this skirt.

One thought on “Outfitblogging 26 Apr 2013

  1. Mia says:

    I totally struggle with styling crewneck tees–babydoll tees are just as much trouble for me as the boxy unisex shirts because the cap-sleeve snug fit just isn’t very stylish right now (not that I’m the epitome of trendiness…) Lighter, looser tees seem to be the thing, but finding ones that fit right and also aren’t ridiculously overpriced…bah. I’ve been trying to do some home surgery on my tees by cutting a raw edge for the neckline and pulling so it curls under, but that’s tricky if, like me, one’s hands aren’t so steady.

    I feel like I’ve seen some good edgy-style tee outfits around the internet (esp. over at Hey Fat Chick on tumblr); I think they’re mostly paired with more form-fitting skirts or shorts and tights, which isn’t so seasonally appropriate right now. I like the color combo you’ve got going on, anyway–I like the shirt and cardigan together, so maybe if you try those with another bright, solid-color skirt?

Leave a Reply

