This endless grey winter

Selfie

I’m again wearing a cozy wool sweater. It’s cold. Oh so cold. Just when I was beginning to have a sliver of hope for spring, it starts snowing again today.

I live in an area where it does get cold and snow is not unexpected, but this winter has been colder and snowier than it has in the past few years. The skies are grey and the temperatures are frigid (seriously, Siri told me it felt like negative zero a couple weeks ago—what even is negative zero?) which left me curled up on the couch in my robe with a cup of tea for many, many days. Bad weather had my offices closed on some days, while most of my team telecommuted for others. My space heater and my electric heated mattress pad got a super workout this winter.

Needless to say, style has been the last thing on my find for a while.

My dislike of pants has been documented on this site, but for the past few months, I’ve found myself wearing them more and more as the temperatures plummeted. And not just one pair, oh goodness no. There were days when I was wearing three pair of pants to work. Three pair, people. If I lived in a different climate, where winter chills were normal, I might invest in a decent pair of flannel-lined pants or a long wool skirt or some fleece leggings, but when I’m hit with an unexpected cold, I make due with what I’ve got.

In optimistic preparation for spring, I’ve begun looking through my closet, organizing my apartment, and cleaning up the side of my house. Hopefully, hopefully, I can get back to blogging my outfits instead of grumpily throwing on nine layers of wool.

Leave a Reply

