Outfitblogging 9 May 2014

Hand-knit shirt over maxi skirt

Shirt: Hand-knit Roanoke, using Ella Rae Lace Merino (spring 2014)
Skirt: Target (spring 2014)
Shoes: Crocs (summer 2013)
Earrings: Optimystical Studios, at Geek Girl Con (summer 2012)
Necklace: Lane Bryant (summer 2010)

Newly acquired maxi skirt, newly finished knitting project! Last week was very warm and I was so happy to finally wear my Roanoke tee. It was a really quick knit but the blocking/drying time took three impatient days. If you are interested in the technical aspects, you can read much more about it over at our knitting blog.

I’m reluctantly pleased with my new maxi skirt. I’ve wanted a black with white or grey chevron striped maxi for a while and picked this up as an impulse purchase at Target while on a road trip the week before. There’s been a lot of muttering in the plus-size style community lately, about the long absence of the “women’s plus” department in physical Target stores. They told us change was coming and when it did, it was sparse and full of shapeless grey clothing. I think the grey color is called “manatee”. le sigh

Long necklace and short earrings

I want to reach for long necklaces when wearing a maxi skirt, and chose this one for the colors. They match smoothly against the bright deep hot pink of the knitted tee. I then picked the earrings to bring out the green in the necklace. Green and pink? Why not!

Crocs sandals

This was the first sockless day in the office! These Crocs are a little snug—I usually wear a US women’s 7 in Crocs, and both my purple flats and my classic clogs (I used these as house slippers) are size 7 and fit very well. So naturally I ordered these in size 7, but alas. Snug. I’d like to order a new pair in an 8 but don’t want these to go to waste. Does anyone need a pair of Crocs sandals?

Leave a Reply

