Outfitblogging 20 May 2014

Summer sweater

Sweater: Land’s End (spring 2014)
Dress as skirt: eShakti (winter 2013)
Necklace: gift from parents (Christmas 2012)
Earrings: Optimystical Studios, at Geek Girl Con (summer 2012)
Shoes: Earth Origins, at DSW (spring 2014)

More spring! I picked up this amazing summer sweater at Land’s End last weekend. I’d gone to a local Sears/Land’s End to return a pair of ill-fitting shorts I’d ordered online, and couldn’t resist trying a few things on. The cost was a bit more than I’d usually pay, but there was a sale that weekend and when you return an online order in-store, you get 10% off if you buy something at the same time. Win!

I feel like I’m channeling Gracey a bit with this sweater. If only I had a pair of lovely skinnies (maybe in mint?) and some cap-toed flats, my transformation would be complete, bwahaha.

Also, could someone tell me, please, for the love of all that is good in this world, where a fat girl with a short rise could find a pair of colored skinny jeans? I really, really want pairs in white and mint. I tried on a pair of skinnies at Target, and while they fit OK, the waist still comes up about 2 inches above my belly button.

Also (#2), Target doesn’t think fat girls want skinny jeans in any other color except indigo and black. Gaddammit.

Green accessories

My preferred neckline is lower on my chest than this sweater’s, which is crew. I’ve usually shied away from crew necks, but I’m figuring out how to fake a neckline with accessories. While the crew neck is higher, the necklace creates the illusion of a lower scoop neck. It seems like Style Basic 101 to some folks, but even after over two years (!!) of blogging, I’m still learning some of these tricks. Hey, I never claimed to be a fashionista!

Black sandals

Shoooooooes. I picked up these beauties on the same DSW trip as the strappy cognac sandals, and I love them so much. I wondered how I would deal with no socks with a fairly closed toe like this, but I’m having no issues so far. The insole has a “breathable sock lining”, and that’s no joke. Even with a shorter heel, there’s enough support for my feet that I’m sure these will become my most-worn shoes by the end of summer.

One thought on “Outfitblogging 20 May 2014

  1. Yes, this outfit is totally Gracey-esque! But in a way that’s also still so you. I normally dislike crewneck shirts and sweaters too, but the necklace really does do a good job of creating that neckline effect; I’d never consciously thought about why I liked that sort of pairing before. Cool.

Leave a Reply

