Outfitblogging 18 April 2015

Spring dress with hat and shawl

Dress: eShakti (summer 2013)
Hat: Nine West, at Macy’s (spring 2010) with additions by me (spring 2015)
Shawl: hand-knit Sunflower Shawl, using Bittersweet Woolery Star Dust (summer 2013)
Shoes: b.o.c. at DSW (spring 2014)
Earrings, necklace, bracelet: Vintage 360, Etsy (winter 2012)

Just let me start off by stating that this outfit was all about the hat.

After each season of karaoke, a bunch of us celebrate with a huge brunch, including as many bottles of champagne as we can handle. When the fall season ended in December, we made the brunch theme “ugly Christmas sweater”, so for this brunch, a Spring/Easter hat theme was decided.

I had a few ideas of which dresses I could wear. This one, and the accompanying shawl, was worn for my friend’s fall garden wedding over a year ago. As soon as I spied the bright green dress with the embroidered flowers, I knew it would be perfect.

Sunflower shawl

The shawl was hand-knit by me over several months, and I was so super pleased with how it turned out. The pattern was a gift from a friend a couple years ago, and I finally found the perfect yarn for the job at the NY Sheep & Wool festival in 2012. It is one of my favorite knits.

Spring hat

Also: this hat! It was really all about the hat. For the base, I recycled my old floppy hat, which was starting to get a bit worn. I also bought a scrunchable floppy hat last year, so this one was seeing fewer and fewer wears. Now it’s got a fresh life as that wonderful ode to spring brunch, with its bright flowers and tiny martini glasses.

Sandals

While the shoes are comfortable and pretty, there’s not much more to say about them, after the shawl and the hat.

2 thoughts on “Outfitblogging 18 April 2015

  1. AAAAAHHHH, look at you! I thought you were going to say that you wore this for a Derby party, but it’s even better for non-Derby spring brunch. The orange flower on the hat goes so well with that gorgeous shawl. MOST impressive.

  2. I was every so pleased with how everything turned out. I knew I wanted to wear the shawl, and had a couple dresses in mind, and everything just came together when picking out bits and pieces at the craft store. Now I want to make all the hats.

Leave a Reply

